You Had Me at Hola

You Had Me at Hola

A Novel

Paperback - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
1

National Bestseller

"I could not get enough of Jasmine and Ashton! I adored Jasmine--her ambition, her confidence, her attacks of self-doubt, and especially her hilarious, snarky, and loving cousins. She and Ashton have such a steamy, swoony, love story that I didn't want the book to end!"--Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author

RITA® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas--perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient.

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers.

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new "Leading Lady Plan" should be easy enough to follow--until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez.

Leading Ladies don't need a man to be happy.

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he'll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had.

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars.

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton's most closely guarded secret.

Publisher: New York, NY : Avon, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2020]
Edition: First edition.
Copyright Date: ©2020
ISBN: 9780062959928
0062959921
Branch Call Number: FICTION DARIA
Characteristics: 365 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

An actress on an upward career trajectory falls in love with her leading man.

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her n... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
WPL_Erin Mar 12, 2021

Cute but I didn’t love it. The characters were a bit hard to vibe with and I found myself skimming a bit.
Story was sweet if a bit predictable, but I did enjoy the emphasis on the Latin community. As much as I liked the added Spanish, more English translation would have been nice. I found myself stopping to Google translate a lot of conversation and it would ruin the moment.

JessicaGma Dec 29, 2020

A really great contemporary romance set in the world of telenovelas. Jasmine and Ashton are the new stars of a brand new telenovela, but it's a tough slog. Jasmine is trying to become a leading lady without landing in the tabloids, and Ashton has a secret back in Puerto Rico that is causing him extreme anxiety. It's both fantasy and reality in this match, and a great read.

a
AConsolver
Dec 03, 2020

4 - 4.5 Stars - I highly recommend if you enjoy contemporary romance.

I'll admit that the gorgeous cover drew me to this book, but holy cow, it was so much fun to read. I loved the premise and the characters so much. The book switching back and forth between the show and real life, as well as dual POV made this book feel really well rounded. I loved Jasmine and her goals to improve her career and image. I loved her soft heart and young spirit. Jasmine's family was delightful, and it was so telling that they featured in her thoughts even when they weren't together how important they are to her. As someone who suffers from anxiety, I could relate to Ashton's character. His drive to take care of his family and improve his craft were very compelling. I thought that the chemistry between the characters, while a little bit slow burn, was really really steamy. I enjoyed the angst and the reluctance they had to be together. The steamy scenes were VERY STEAMY. I also enjoyed their dual language conversations and terms of endearment. I won't give any spoilers, but I also liked the mini twist at the ending of the book. Overall, this was a great book, very fun but also important in terms of representation and conversations about representation. This won't be my last Alexis Daria book!

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Nov 28, 2020

Great romance with Latinx representation. Definitely on the spicy side.

p
plattsla
Nov 18, 2020

A steamy romance set amidst the filming of a telenovela-esque TV show. Fast-paced, dramatic, with plenty of cavity sweet moments.

b
booknrrd
Sep 20, 2020

In this fun, sexy romance novel, a Nuyorican soap opera star and a Puerto Rican telenovela star have the opportunity of their careers starring on a new series featuring a diverse Latinx cast for a popular streaming service. She is a reluctant paparazzi darling after a very public breakup while he is intensely private due to a scary incident with a stalker in his past. Can they keep things professional or will they give in to their growing attraction?

s
Suellen1111
Aug 21, 2020

Not impressed with the sample. Latin tv stars, shallow. That staccato, expository sentence style that's boring. The sex scenes are explicit but don't have any love in them. Tried it twice & still don't like it.

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
miraellie
Oct 16, 2020

Jasmine did trust easily, and look where it had gotten her. She could see now it was a direct response to feeling ignored and misunderstood by her parents and siblings. It was why she’d readily given her heart to every semi-attractive man who’d even shown her an ounce of attention. She sought her parents’ love by securing romantic relationships, because in her family, that was what made you a success. But that wasn’t healthy. And trust wasn’t meant to be given in one lump sum. It was earned, little by little.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at FCLS

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top